Let’s Talk About Aqua Jogging for a Second

The funny thing about training for a marathon is every week is different. Every day is different. A few weeks ago I ran a 10 miler with hip pain and the next week I flew through 11 miles without so much as a twinge. This past week I was halted by some foot pain I’ll attribute to walking around in my wonderful leather boots that I’ll be purchasing some insoles for. Instead of pushing my limits and going out for my run I made the decision to take my training indoors to the pool for 2 hours of solid aqua jogging.

Now, I was lifeguard at my university pool all throughout college and often questioned the sanity of the aqua joggers. Maybe it’s just me but the idea of pruning up as I chug along in circles without my iPod sounded treacherous. Nevertheless, I donned my bathing suit and swim cap and hit the water. Side note: the lifeguard thought I must have been a college runner which gave me a little confidence. “These guns travel well,” as my old pal “Jumbo Calves Jim” would say.

If you can't find Jim in this picture, well....

If you can’t find Jim in this picture, well….

As an aqua jogging beginner, it took a solid 15 minutes before I could get into a rhythm. I found myself mimicking the woman next to me who clearly had it all down. I decided to spend some time near the end of my workout swimming some laps, one of my favorite exercises save for the fact that I haven’t had regular access to a pool. I didn’t realize the effort I had been expounding until I got out and walked to the other side in a gait that resembled that of a camel.

At the end of the day, I’m happy with my decision as my foot is already feeling better. Believe it or not, I enjoyed my time in the pool. I’ll be getting a membership so I can take advantage of this new exercise when it’s not the right day to run.

Ps. Adidas released their official 2014 B.A.A Boston Marathon gear. Orange again. Not my color but you know I will be buying this jacket!

baa marathon jacket

Leave a comment