Summer in the City

I’m nearing the end of my one year stint living in the city, making the shift to the quiet life of the burbs alongside my significant other. That, combined with one of my friend’s addictive blog series, has gotten me nostalgic thinking about all of the things I love about life in Boston, especially during the summer. Here are a few of the good ones:

See ya later students!

The day one-third of the city’s population exits is one to be celebrated. No traffic, plenty of parking and lines for restaurants and bars dissipate. I’m not sure there is another place in the country that sees the mass exodus of 18-22 year-olds on such a large scale. Though I imagine it’s not great for some businesses, we city dwellers take it as a welcome break from the general chaos that breaks out from September to May.

You want it, we got it.

While most of us spend the better part of the year indoors, when it comes to summer, we’ve got everything you could want just a short drive away. Beaches, check. Festivals, double check. Vineyards, you know it. Hiking, affirmative. The options are endless. Part of the reason I have been neglecting to post has been that I have been so caught up enjoying everything this area has to offer.

A few of the best moments so far this summer

A few of the best moments so far this summer

Seafood

Seriously though…it’s hard to compete with the kind of seafood we have access to on the east coast. You only have to go as far the nearest market to find “lobbies” caught a few miles away. Mix that with a six pack of Sam from your local “packie” and you got a “wicked pissah pahty.” Ok…most of us don’t actually speak like that but can turn it on pretty quickly when prompted. Speaking of Sam Adams…the beer in this city is pretty awesome too! But back to seafood, there are a few upcoming festivals to celebrate this wonderful fruit of the sea. This weekend’s Boston Seafood Festival and next month’s Fisherman’s Feast to name a few.

Even though I have found myself daydreaming of Fall (maybe it’s the oppressive humidity we’ve had), suffering through winter in Boston is entirely worth it for all that summer has to offer. Now only if it could last longer!

Leave a comment